Foodies United

Sister 1 here. I would first like to announce that when Sister 3 and I were in New York, all we did was watch food network at the hotel. Yes, we ate here and there, but for the most part, we watched Bobby Flay compete on Iron Chef..over and over again. And speaking of cooking shows…, I finally went to FLIPBURGER in Atlanta!!! Opened by Robert Blais from Top Chef Chicago, I believe it is considered a “burger boutique,” hahaha. I had the steak tartare burger with a sous vide egg. I love saying sous vide. He he he.

Anyway, this place is amazing!! All of us loved our choices (turkey burger, regular burger, and bacon and cheddar) and the fries as well as zucchini fries were delicious. We also indulged in several drinks..namely, milkshakes!! They had a fois gras one, which I thought was interesting but not enough to try it. Matt and I split a KRISPY KREME milkshake which is exactly as it sounds (imagine that favorite glazed donut in liquid form. YUM) and Diana and Stephanie split the Pistachio, which was also really incredible. And if you can imagine, it’s all reasonably priced. Yes!!! I even saw foam on the menu. My new favorite place to eat.

In other news, we made a maple pecan tart and a pumpkin tart the day after Thanksgiving. Today, I made another maple pecan tart because it turns out the only sweet dessert my dad like IS pecan pie, so I thought it’d be great to make more of it, especially since I don’t know what the family plans to do with my leftover ingredients.

Pictures below:

We used a pre-made pie dough because I am really bad at dough, and still have yet to get the hang of it. The recipe is from Epicurious, but I’ll post part of it here anyway:

Filling:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup dark corn syrup (we used light, it seems okay)
  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted
  • 1/8 tsp of salt
  • 1 1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together eggs and sugar until well blended. Then whisk in maple syrup, melted butter, corn syrup, and salt. Then, stir in pecans. Pour filling into tart crust/pan (9″) and bake for 40 minutes. Before we put the tart in, we added some whole pecans on top just to make it look a little bit nicer 🙂

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Maple-Pecan-Tart-240422 (recipe link here!)

Hope everyone had a good thanksgiving!


2 Comments on “Foodies United”

  1. megacheesey says:

    mmm, pecan pie…PLEASE LEAVE ME A SLICE!!! hahaha to dad liking it, remember when mom refused to give him some slices? our family…so ridiculous. that burger place sounds SO GOOD. we should go the next time we’re both in town! that, or i’ll hunt for it with some friends over break. yeee, good food making me hungry…

  2. 456maya67 says:

    richard blais…. hmmph…. i saw his season of top chef!!!! (and he kicked butt XD)


Leave a Reply

