mushroom ragu and polenta rounds

I had polenta, that had been sitting in fridge for quite sometime. The kind I had was pre-cooked but honestly I think making your own will probably taste much better. Nonethless, I wanted to make something that wasn’t the usual. I didn’t have all the right ingredients, so this is what I threw together.

1. Bake polenta in oven for about 15-20 minutes, at 350 F.

2. While baking, have the following:

  • mushrooms, sliced
  • sweet onion, chopped
  • garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup of diced tomatoes
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup of chicken broth
  • thyme
  • cream or half/half
  • a little bit of marsala wine
  • olive oil

So, I sauteed the garlic and onions first, then the mushrooms in olive oil at medium heat. Then I added the chicken broth after the mushrooms had cooked through, another 2-3 minutes. Then, I add cream, tomatoes, and the wine, as sprinkle salt, pepper, and thyme all over and let it simmer together for 5-7 minutes. Then, I put little piles of the mushroom mixture on each little round of polenta, with some parmesan on top. Very easy, and actually pretty good. I don’t think it was a true-to-form mushroom ragu with polenta, but I tried.

As an afterthought, I hope you two are paying attention to the news. It’s hard to believe what is happening in Egypt right now, do you remember what we saw just a year ago? Keep prayers for the people..

live blogging on the protests in egypt here: http://blogs.aljazeera.net/middle-east/2011/01/28/liveblog-egypts-protests-erupt

Leave a Reply

