Late-night Banana Pecan Bread

Image

Last night I noticed a couple of my bananas were getting pretty spotty – since my week is usually super busy, I thought – maybe it would be a good time to make some banana bread for the week! I still have these pecans leftover from when I made the tart (Thanksgiving – I don’t think nuts go bad?) so I added those in there. I took cues from this recipe, but used a half cup brown sugar and a half cup white sugar instead – brown sugar gives it a whole other flavor that’s pretty delish. Banana bread is perfect because it’s easy, quick, and doesn’t require a whole lot that wouldn’t already be in your house.

Ingredients:

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, mashed (if you have a masher, just mash them in a bowl – I used a ziplock bag and mashed them up with my hands)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted (or a room temp.)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar (or all brown sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • chopped pecans (1/2 cup or handful)
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F)
  2. Mash up bananas and mix well with the butter – should be a creamy texture.
  3. Combine with sugar, egg and vanilla extract. Then, add in the salt and baking soda.
  4. Mix in flour until well combined.
  5. Fold in chopped pecans
  6. Butter a regular loaf pan and pour in batter
  7. Bake for about an hour, or until toothpick (or chopstick!) comes out clean
  8. Cool for 10 minutes, then serve.
Leave a Reply

