Greetings from New York

Hi sisters!

It’s been a hot summer. So hot, in fact, that your dearest has been living off of eating like (literally) a rabbit. Raw veggies, yogurt, sorbet, anything that does not require real cooking. Although fish has been around from time to time. Some of my quick favorites:

1. Arugula Salad with Tomatoes, Shaved Parmesan cheese, almonds, and cranberries. I then add a bit of lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and a little bit of salt and pepper. Toss and it’s perfect as a side to any meal. Sometimes I add in spinach too.

2. Tilapia Sandwich with Mango Chutney. Sometimes I get indian food and save all the sauces for other dishes – especially if its leftover mango chutney from the Hampton Chutney Co. in SoHo. Yumm. So anyway: I pan-fry the tilapia filet with some all-seasons salt, lemon juice, and olive oil until it gets crispy on both side. I put it on toasted whole-wheat bread, with spinach and chutney. Voila. Fancy sandwich.

3. Chorizo scramble. I was going through a sausage phase. I take off the casing of the fresh sausage first, and then brown it in the pan. Gradually break the sausage down and make sure its fairly cooked before adding in eggs (already whisked) and spinach. We added some tomatoes and toast on the side. Delish.

4. I finally got some fresh basil so I’ve been putting it on top of my favorite summer snack – tomatoes, mozarella, and balsamic vinegar. Nothing more, nothing less. Simple.

5. Kimchi Jeon. It wasn’t perfect but I think I’m getting close! It’s one of my favorite things to eat like a million of at Woojirip in K-Town so I was excited to try making my own. Basically, it’s a mix of cold water, egg (beaten), flour, kimchi broth, and kimchi. I added onion, green onion, and zucchini as well to make it a feel a little bit more healthy. The consistency is a little bit more watery than pancake batter basically. It’s delicious, especially paired with the vegetable sauce we usually pair with chicken katsu!

I also recently tried a green tiramisu cake from Panya Bakery in East Village. See the picture below! It was basically exquisite. Also ,the bakery is very cute and convenient..at least for where I’m coming from. Baked goods were ok, but the cake is divine.

 

Pam’s birthday cake from Panya Bakery!

Leave a Reply

